Das Buch

March 10, 2006

I’ve edited four chapters but they were the easy ones. Now I’m facing the difficult beginning and end.

I had become so lost in the editor’s recommendations for moving stuff around that I became quite confused. It was also apparent that she missed several of my important messages entirely, suggesting that I cut them.

I took the original book’s table of contents in three levels of detail, put the file in OPML outliner, stuck it back in Word, and rearranged the topics (and pages references) per the editor. Now I’ve got to reassemble the chapters and come up with a coherent story.

It’s easy to get pissed off at the editor and reviewers for being small minded, but they are just trying to help me chip away the marble obscuring the beautiful statue underneath it all. I may have to enlist Jane and Philip in this task.

I also need to talk with the marketing folks at Pfeiffer re: size and graphics.

